Congratulations to our 2010 ReelWorld Film Festival Award Recipients!

ReelWorld Film Festival | RWFF held its annual Brunch with Brilliance Awards Ceremony on Sunday April 11th, 2010 at Brassaii Restaurant and Lounge. Seven awards selected by ReelWorld jurors were handed out to filmmakers. The CBC Audience Choice Award was presented for the film most-voted for by festival-goers. The ReelWolrd Trailblazers awards for personal achievement were also presented.

ReelWorld presents these awards annually as part of its commitment to recognize the work of ethnically and culturally diverse filmmakers.

Tonya Lee Williams Award for Outstanding Canadian Feature:

Off World

Directed by Mateo Guez, produced by Mateo Guez and Byron Wong

Award presented by Carol Tai Pow, Manager for TD Insurance


ReelWorld Award for Outstanding International Feature:

Children of Invention

Directed by Tze Chun, produced by Mynette Louie and Trevor Sagan

Award presented by John Tsrilis, Vice President of Sales for Cineplex Media


ReelWorld Award for Outstanding Canadian Feature Documentary:

Dogz Lyfe: Burdens of a Gangsta Rapper

Directed by Cory Generoux, produced by Lori Kuffner

Award presented by Anita Lee, Producer at the National Film Board of Canada (NFB)


ReelWorld Award for Outstanding International Documentary:

Why We Laugh: Black Comedians on Black Comedy

Directed by Robert Townsend, produced by Jeff Clanagan, Richard Foos, Quincy Newell, Robert Townsend, Darryl Littleton and Angela Northington

Award presented by Anita Lee of the NFB


ReelWorld Award for Outstanding Canadian Short Film:

Funky Prairie Boy

Directed by Mike Schultz, produced by Mike Schultz and Heidi T. Yang

Award presented by Rhonda Lockwood, Account Manager for Kodak Canada


ReelWorld Award for Outstanding International Short Film:

Gefilte Fish

Directed by Shelly Kling, produced by Lilach Gavish

Award Presented by John Tsrilis, Vice President of Sales for Cineplex Media


ReelWorld Award for Outstanding Canadian Music Video:

Going Back to Hali

Directed by Cazhhmere

Award presented by Angela Asher, actress appearing on the CBC series18 to Life


CBC Audience Award:


Directed by Lenin M. Sivam. Produced by Lenin M. Sivam and Sabesan Jeyarajasingam.

Award presented by Angela Asher


Tony Stoltz ReelWorld Visionary Award 2010

Joan Jenkinson, Director of Independent Productions and Executive Producer, S-Vox

Award presented by Lynne Stoltz, author, screenwriter and producer

2010 Award Jurors:

Andrea Argento, Agent, Catalyst Talent Creative Management Inc.; Tom Hastings, Creative Head, Drama, TV, Arts & Entertainment, CBC; Kevin Hicks, Head of Development, The Talent House Toronto; Gerry Jordan, Agent, Jordan and Associated Talent Management Ltd.; Edna Khubyar, President and Founder, ETM Ltd.; David McMillan, Director of Canadian Operations, Eagle Rock Entertainment; Jeff Nedza, Marketing Manager, Vivendi Entertainment; Marva Ollivierre, President, Doe Eye Media Productions Inc.: Charlotte Rose, Agent, Green Light Artist Management, RT (Randall Thorne) Director, Co-Owner and CEO, The N.E., Anna Tsoulogiannis, Programmer, Movieola the Short Film Channel

Thank you to all our awards sponsors Cineplex Media, Pierre Laurent, TD Bank Financial Group, Kodak, NFB, Movieola, CBC, Centennial College@Wallace Studios